Baseball Project


Over the past few days I have been working on a project. It will allow me to offer more to fans of other teams, and will be different in comparison to the typical baseball blog.  It will be a baseball blog dedicated to stats, whether they may be random or universally known.  Unlike other notable stat websites like STATS, SABR, and the Elias Sports Bureau, access to stats will be free.  In a way it will be somewhat comparable to Fan Graphs, but with different ideas, perspectives and stats.  If anyone is interested in being a part of this new website covering stats, writing articles on news across MLB, or if you want to come up with your own unique stats, then feel free to contact me.  I will be happy to welcome you to the team. You can always reach me at my email address: josephnieves79@yahoo.com

The great thing about this website is that it will be interactive.  You heard me right, readers can request for us to research information that will be seen in future posts on the website. Whether you want to know who is the only player to hit 200+ career home runs without every hitting 20 in a season, which would be Ron Fairly.  Or whether you want to know who has the record for most hits in a single season, that would be Ichiro Suzuki in 2004.  I will do my very best to find it for you.

At the moment, I have been focusing on the past 15 baseball seasons and already have a few random facts that you probably never heard of before.  Data from 2000-2014 is the easiest to obtain, as it is more recent in time.  I plan on expanding beyond those years over time, but that might require more manpower and womanpower.

I am also currently in the process of tweaking a stat that measures a player’s value to his team, which I am calling VIM. At the moment I need to increase the impact that batting average and wOBA has on the stat, since currently they have little impact on the stat.  This stats does a good job of measuring defense and baserunning equal to offense. So players that contribute in all facets are deemed more valuable by the stat.  I will unveil the formula for the stat and go in-depth on it in a future post.

I did a little sample with the newly invented stat and used it to determine the value of 11 3B, as well as to find any flaws in the system.  I have adapted the stat to eradicate those flaws, and hope to make a stat that measures catchers and pitchers performances.  Here is how they were ranked by it:

  • Anthony Rendon 17 VIM
  • Josh Donaldson 14 VIM
  • Chase Headley 13VIM
  • Josh Harrison 11VIM
  • Todd Frazier 11VIM
  • Adrian Beltre 11 VIM
  • Kyle Seager 10 VIM
  • Martin Prado 8 VIM
  • David Wright 6 VIM
  • Evan Longoria 5 VIM
  • Matt Carpenter 5 VIM

It can also be used to project a player’s performance in future years.  This can be done by using FanGraph’s aging curve graph, which I found

http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/hitters-no-longer-peak-only-decline/ .  I only used a small sample size for this experiment. At the moment however, it seems that this is how the different VIMs can be categorized.

Great: 13+ VIM

Good: 10+ VIM

Above Average: 7+ VIM

Average: 5+ VIM

The numbers are arbitrary at the moment, and may be adjusted to become more accurate.  Anyway this is the glimpse of the project, hope you guys like the idea. More information will come out on the project in due time. To reiterate what I said before, I believe that with a group of people we can accomplish more with the new site as a team.  So if you are interested in becoming part of the team, my email is up above and you can feel free to contact me.

Leave a Reply

